When I’ve Been Falsely Accused- Part 1

This summer I faced an accusation that kept me reeling for weeks. I couldn’t tell which way was up and needed godly advisers to help me put my feet back on solid ground. Through the trial, I’ve found comfort and guidance from the Word.

First of all, a fog-clearing quote from Charles Spurgeon:

“He who grows in grace remembers that he is but dust, and he therefore does not expect his fellow Christians to be anything more. He overlooks ten thousand of their faults, because he knows his God overlooks twenty thousand in his own case. He does not expect perfection in the creature, and, therefore, he is not disappointed when he does not find it.”

As I formulate my attitude those who have hurt me, I have to remember how much God has forgiven me for far greater, in light of His holiness. In gratitude for the great debt I have been forgiven through Christ, I find the strength to forgive others.

Col. 3:12-13 “Put on therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, bowels of mercies, kindness, humbleness of mind, meekness, longsuffering; Forbearing one another, and forgiving one another, if any man have a quarrel against any: even as Christ forgave you, so also do ye.”

Eph 4:32 “And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.”

Here’s a quote from a sermon delivered by John MacArthur:

“Nothing is more godlike than forgiving someone. And never are you more like God than when you forgive. If it is your heart’s prayer to be like Christ, to be as God’s children, beloved children who manifest His character, then you must necessarily be characterized by forgiveness.”

Tomorrow I’ll share a Psalm that has brought me particular comfort and guidance through my situation.

Published in: on September 26, 2008 at 4:48 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://faithandfamily.wordpress.com/2008/09/26/when-ive-been-falsely-accused-part-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

